Nico Rosberg won the prestigious Laureus award

Нико Росберг получил престижную награду Laureus

The reigning world champion Nico Rosberg at the annual awards ceremony Laureus Awards in Monaco, won the award in the nomination “Breakthrough of the year”.

Last year Nico with an advantage of five points ahead of his teammate Lewis Hamilton by winning nine races.

Among the other nominees was Iceland national team soccer, national team, Fiji Rugby, winning gold at the Olympics in Rio, football club Leicester city won the championship of England, Wade van Niekerk, who managed to update the record in the 400-meter race at the Olympics in Rio and Almaz Ayana, the new record holder in the 10 km race.

In 2015 in the same category was won by Daniel ricciardo, to which the trophy was won by Jenson Button (2009), Lewis Hamilton (2007) and Juan-Pablo Montoya (2002).

“I grew up about forty feet away, literally in the next building, — said the President during his speech. — When I was 14, I stood on the balcony and in parallel watched on TV for Nelson Mandela on stage.

Since then, I dreamed of one day to be here. Incredibly, it eventually happened. I am grateful to everyone who was a part of my success.”

Trophy, Rosberg was handed a two-time F1 champion Emerson Fittipaldi.

In addition to Rosberg prize could get a Mercedes in the category “Team of the year”, but for the third time in a row Anglo-German team lost to rivals. This time the judges gave the prize to the team Chicago Krabs, who won the world series in baseball for the first time in 108 years.

Want to get the most current news website on your mobile device? Subscribe to our channel in the Telegram!

Source translated by Яндекс.Переводчик

News on this topic
DailyAutosport © 2018 Top